My new book hits the shelves this weekend

fix

I have just got the first copies of my new book ‘The Big Fix – How South Africa Stole the 2010 World Cup’.

The 2010 World Cup was a magnificent event of which South Africa was very proud. But, the sad truth is that this great event was eaten hollow by the worms of greed and corruption, from the way in which the right to host it was secured to the rigging of construction contracts, the fixing of Bafana Bafana games and even the murder of a municipal speaker who raised questions about corruption. From banks accounts in the Cayman Islands to the Fifa money-machine, it was a feasting ground for greedy politicians and administrators.

I felt I had to write this story because this country is owed an honest account of one of its seminal moments. It was hard to do this knowing how fondly this nation remembers pulling together to make it happen, but I simply couldn’t ignore the uncomfortable truth.

Leave a comment